We spent 29 days in Peru, it is now time for us to make a small assessment.

First of all, here is our route

  • 2 days in Arequipa
  • 1 day on the Colca canyon road
  • 3 days hiking in the Colca canyon
  • 1 day in Cusco
  • 1 day in the Sacred Valley
  • 1 day of trekking preparation in Cusco
  • 7 days trekking looking for the Choquequirao
  • 3 days in Cusco to rest
  • 2 days in Nazca
  • 1 day in Lima
  • 3 days in Huaraz
  • 2 days in Trujillo
  • 2 days in Chiclayo

Some numbers

We slept:

  • 3 nights in AirBnB in Cusco and 1 in Chiclayo
  • 5 nights in bus
  • 8 nights hiking
  • 11 nights in hostel/inn

General feelings

The fourth country on our road, Peru was a beautiful and pleasant surprise. We were expecting to cross the most touristic country of South America, to wander among the tourists being amazed at Andean smokescreen, finally we were pleasantly surprised by this country and its inhabitants.

We completely fell under the spell of the South of the country, its cities with colonial tracks or its green valleys with luxuriant forests. We wandered during the rainy season, in March. Then yes, we systematically folded a wet tent or even soaked, our clothes aired sometimes three days to dry, we walked in heavy mist during a whole day and we reached a lagoon perched at 4,600 m slapping with wind and snow mixed with rain. But you know what? We regret nothing! Travelling in Peru during the rainy season will have offered us some spectacular landscapes that we will not forget.

Moreover, speaking about spectacular, Machu Picchu, classified among the Seven New World Wonders is considered as an unmissable for any trip in Peru. However, we decided not to go there. Several reasons for that: the tourist torrent visiting every day this archeological site does not please us and weak ruins; the fact that every movement of the visitors is controlled by guards and cords of circulation; the high price of entrance, without being sure how it is used.

Peru has an incredible archaeological wealth! To give you an idea, the Incas, who are the most famous by their art of the war and by the construction of Machu Picchu lived “only” two centuries from 1300 till 1500. Bye the way, Machu Picchu is only one of their realisation among so many others; Cusco area is overflowed with sites still covered of vegetation. We went off to explore one of them, we speak about it later.

Do the names of Caral, Chan Chan, Sipian speak to you? These places are a wealth for the country: Caral is the oldest pre-Colombian city of South America, built between 3000 and 1800 before Jesus Christ; Chan Chan is the biggest city of adobe of the world (construction of clay, sand and straw, to refresh your memory, it is this way or there) built by Chimus who lived between 1000 and 1400 after JC; Sipian, territory of the Moches (pronounced motché) between the year 100 and 700 after JC, known for their unequalled hydraulic knowledge at this time and their mastery of the ceramic and the goldsmithery, marvellous! These places are only some examples. We visited two museums dedicated to the last two quoted sites. Besides, refusing to go to Machu Picchu, we went to another inca city, Choquequirao (“golden cradle” in Quechua), called often “younger sister of Machu Picchu” the site would be bigger in fact; today only 40 % of the constructions arose from the forest. To go there, 2 days of hiking minimum. A project of cable railway between two valleys, validated by Peruvian government, would waste the tranquillity of the place, but at the moment, we are enjoying! We decided to go by ourselves there and we slept and trudged in the middle of ruins, surrounded with a half-dozen of visitors. Not the big crowd! We pursued our walk 5 other days through remote valleys, accessible only by walking, unknown inca ruins, we crossed high passes which tested us to arrive at the end, in the last morning, on a mirador of Machu Picchu. This trek was the hardest we made, 94 km, 6,175 m of positive difference in height and 7,180 m negative difference in height (without counting the visit of Choquequirao, where nothing is flat!). Our small Peruvian challenge! To continue on numbers, a quick glance at our expenses during this week trek: 63€ / person, campsite, food, entrance of the site, the outward trip and return on Cusco. To give you an idea, the only entrance of Machu Picchu costs 40 €, the stay is usually 200€ / person for two days and one night.

Other pleasant surprise of the country, the smile and the humor of Peruvians! In the South especially, we met smiling people, delighted to exchange two words with us or to direct us.

Finally, the last pleasant surprise, the food! Well, we have to admit that we did not really taste the Peruvian cooking. At the same time, being vegetarian in the country where the chicken is king, where the fish is cooked in all the way and where the guinea pig is not a pet, is not simple! Nevertheless we enjoyed delicious dishes, copious, sometimes organic, sometimes completely vegan. For that purpose, Cusco, city where we thought only as a tourist place, turned out to be multicultural and very open in particular in term of gastronomy! We gave ouselves a treat ; -)

Concerning our farming discoveries

Peru was the first country without volunteering. We had found a host in the Amazonian forest, east of Cusco and had to go there just after our trek. Not having received indications from the host despite our numerous reminders, we finally gave up the idea of this stay…
To compensate, we observed lands around us!

In our big despair, we find the lack of respect of the people to the earth. Even on high plateau, more than 4,000 m, kilometers away of the first villages, there are waste along every road and path. People throw their residues through windows and say a few minutes later having respect for the Pachamama (the earth). For us that remains a nonsense
Fortunately we had beautiful images. Magnificent cultures where in the middle of corns field grow wild flowers, alternations of culture and a lower use of pesticides.

Moreover, concerning the consumption of pesticides, Peru has a consumption lower than the world average with in 2014, 98 kg of used pesticides per hectare of arable land (over the same year, the world consumption was 138 kg of pesticides by hectare of arable land and 152 kg for France (Source: The World Bank).

Zero-waste objective

Following the example of Bolivia, we were pleased to wander in the local markets where everything can be bought in bulk, even if it is necessary to insist and to be fast to hand its cloth bag not to receive a plastic one… We indulged ourselves in particular for our 7 days trekking, we were almost able to realise zero-waste shopping.

We did not keep the exact detail but globally on 29 days we produced as not recyclable or not biodegradable waste:

  • 1 plastic wrap which packed a sandwich
  • 1 bag of pastas, 1 of oat and 1 of polenta, leftover from Chile
  • 1 bag of pastas and 1 of wheat
  • 3 bags of tomato sauce
  • 1 straw (we thought of making a perfect round, and at the last moment, bim!)
  • 2 packagings of toilet paper
  • Some medicine
  • 1 bag of spices bought in Argentina
  • 1 brick of almond milk (we spoke about homemade hot chocolate with almonds crushed during the whole trek that we were obliged to buy one at our return!)
  • 4 bags of chocolate (we needed strengths for the hike ;-)!) then again 4 because they were excellent!
  • Dental floss
  • Bandages
  • Condoms

A financial point to conclude

With Bolivia and Ecuador, Peru is considered as one of the cheapest countries of South America. The average budget per day per person seen repeatedly was 25€. The difference with other countries, we find everything for all budget! Example in Cusco, several luxury hotels are offered to the visitors (500€ pernight, we hesitated to crack …! ;-)), but it is as well in this city as we took one of the least expensive rooms of our stay, 8€80 for a double one to have breakfast for two. Still in Cusco, we made an vegan orgy in a restaurant which we warmly recommend (psst, go to see the Green Point!); the lunch, more than copious and flavourfull, for 3€70!

Not having made volunteering, but quite a lot of cultural visits, archeological sites and museums, we have for once a budget rather similar to the classic backpacker. Nevertheless we had no problem to be below 20€ per person!

So we spent 19€ per day and per person:

We hope that you liked reading our balance assessment of Peru. You can find our other series on the following links. The portfolio is here and the production of the pupils of Quinson it is for soon!

Good reading on Yakoilabas!

Nous avons passé 29 jours au Pérou, il est maintenant temps pour nous de faire le bilan.


Tout d’abord, voici notre itinéraire

  • 2 jours à Arequipa
  • 1 jour sur la route du canyon de Colca
  • 3 jours à randonner dans le canyon de Colca
  • 1 jour à Cusco
  • 1 jour dans la Vallée Sacrée
  • 1 jour de préparation de trek à Cusco
  • 7 jours de trek sur les traces du Choquequirao
  • 3 jours à Cusco pour se reposer
  • 2 jours à Nazca
  • 1 jour à Lima
  • 3 jours à Huaraz
  • 2 jours à Trujillo
  • 2 jours à Chiclayo

Quelques chiffres

Nous avons dormi :

  • 3 nuits en AirBnB à Cusco et 1 à Chiclayo
  • 5 nuit en bus
  • 8 nuits en randonnée
  • 11 nuits en hôtel/auberge

Impressions générales

Quatrième pays sur notre route, le Pérou fut une belle et agréable surprise. Nous qui nous attendions à traverser le pays le plus touristique d’Amérique du Sud, à vadrouiller parmi les touristes s’émerveillant de mises en scènes andines, nous avons été agréablement surpris par ce pays et ses habitants.

Nous sommes complètement tombés sous le charme du sud du pays, de ses villes aux traces coloniales à ses vallées verdoyantes en passant par ses forêts luxuriantes. Nous avons vadrouillé durant la saison des pluies, en mars. Alors oui, nous avons systématiquement plié notre tente humide voir trempée, nos vêtements ont mis parfois trois jours à sécher, nous avons marché la tête dans la brume durant une journée entière et nous avons atteint une lagune perchée à 4 600 m en recevant les claques du vent et de la neige mêlée à la pluie. Mais vous savez quoi ? Nous ne regrettons rien ! Parcourir le Pérou durant la saison des pluies nous aura offert des paysages spectaculaires que nous ne sommes pas prêts d’oublier.

D’ailleurs en parlant spectaculaire, le Machu Picchu, classé parmi les Sept Nouvelles Merveilles du Monde est considéré comme un immanquable pour tous voyages au Pérou. Nous avons cependant décidé de ne pas nous y rendre. Plusieurs raisons à cela : le flot touristique déversé chaque jour sur ce site archéologique ne nous plait pas et fragilise les ruines ; le fait que chaque mouvement des visiteurs soit contrôlé par des gardes et des cordons de circulation ; le prix élevé d’entrée, sans que nous soyons surs à quelle fin il est utilisé.

Le Pérou est d’une richesse archéologique incroyable ! Pour vous donner une idée, les Incas, qui sont les plus célèbres par leur art de la guerre et par la construction du Machu Picchu n’ont vécu “que” deux siècles de 1300 à 1500. Soit dit en passant, le Machu Picchu n’est qu’une de leur réalisation parmi tant d’autres ; la région de Cusco regorge encore de sites recouverts de végétation. Nous sommes d’ailleurs partis à la découverte d’un, nous en parlons juste après.

Les noms de Caral, Chan Chan, Sipian ne vous parlent pas ? Ces lieux sont une richesse pour le pays : Caral est la cité précolombienne la plus ancienne d’Amérique du Sud, construite entre 3000 et 1800 avant Jésus Christ ; Chan Chan est la cité d’adobe la plus grande au monde (construction d’argile, sable et paille, pour vous rafraîchir la mémoire, c’est par ici ou ) construite par les Chimus qui ont vécu entre 1000 et 1400 après JC ; Sipian, territoire des Moches (prononcé motché) entre l’an 100 et 700 après JC, reconnus pour leurs connaissances hydrauliques inégalées pour l’époque et leurs maîtrises de la céramique et de l’orfèvrerie, éblouissant ! Ces lieux ne sont que quelques exemples. Nous avons visité deux musées consacrés aux derniers sites cités. En outre, refusant d’aller au Machu Picchu, nous sommes partis à l’assaut d’une autre cité inca, le Choquequirao (“berceau d’or” en quechua), appelée souvent “petite sœur du Machu Picchu” le site serait en fait plus grand ; aujourd’hui seulement 40% des constructions ont surgi de la forêt. Pour s’y rendre, 2 jours de marche minimum. Un projet de téléphérique entre deux vallées, validé par le gouvernent péruvien, viendrait gâcher la tranquillité du lieu, mais pour l’instant, nous profitons ! Nous avons décidé de nous y rendre par nos propres moyens et nous avons dormi et crapahuté au milieu des ruines, entouré d’une demi-douzaine de visiteurs. Pas la grande foule ! Nous avons poursuivi notre marche durant 5 autre journées à travers des vallées préservées, accessibles uniquement en marchant, des ruines incas méconnues, nous avons passé de hauts cols qui nous ont éprouvés pour finalement arriver au dernier matin sur un mirador du Machu Picchu. Ce trek fut le plus dur que nous avons fait, 94 km, 6 175 m de dénivelé positif et 7 180 m dénivelé négatif (sans compter la visite du Choquequirao, où rien n’est plat !). Notre petit challenge péruvien ! Pour continuer sur les chiffres, un rapide coup d’œil à nos dépenses durant ce trek d’une semaine : 63€/personne, camping, nourriture, entrée du site, trajet aller et retour sur Cusco. Pour vous donner une idée, l’entrée seule du Machu Picchu coûte 40 €, le séjour revient vite à 200€/personne pour deux jours et une nuit.

Autre bonne surprise du pays, le sourire et l’humour des péruviens ! Dans le sud surtout, nous avons rencontré des gens souriants, ravis d’échanger deux mots avec nous ou de nous orienter.

Finalement, dernière bonne surprise, la nourriture ! Bon, nous devons avouer que nous n’avons pas vraiment dégusté la cuisine péruvienne. En même temps, être végétarien au pays où le poulet est roi, où le poisson est cuisiné à toutes les sauces et où le cochon d’Inde n’est pas un animal de compagnie, n’est pas simple ! Pourtant nous nous sommes délectés de savoureux plats, copieux, parfois bio, parfois entièrement vegan. Pour cela, Cusco, ville que nous pensions que touristique, s’est avérée multiculturelle et très ouverte notamment en terme de gastronomie ! Nous nous sommes bien fait plaisir 😉

Concernant nos découvertes en lien avec l’agriculture ou l’élevage

Le Pérou aura été le premier pays sans volontariat. Nous avions trouvé un hôte dans la forêt amazonienne à l’est de Cusco et devions nous y rendre juste après notre trek. N’ayant pas reçu d’indications de leur part malgré nos nombreuses relances, nous avons finalement abandonné l’idée de ce séjour…
Pour compenser, nous avons observé les terres autour de nous !
A notre grand désespoir, nous retrouvons le manque de respect des hommes envers la terre. Même sur des plateaux à plus de 4 000 m à des kilomètres des premiers villages, il y a des déchets le long de chaque route et chemin. Les gens jettent leurs résidus par les fenêtres et disent quelques minutes après respecter la Pachamama (la terre). Pour nous ça reste un non-sens
Heureusement nous avons eu de belles images. Des magnifiques cultures où au milieu des maïs poussent des fleurs des champs, des alternances de culture et une utilisation moindre des pesticides.

D’ailleurs, concernant la consommation de pesticides, le Pérou a une consommation inférieure à la moyenne mondiale avec en 2014, 98 kg de pesticides utilisés pas hectare de terre arable (sur la même année, la consommation mondiale était de 138 kg de pesticides par hectare de terre arable et 152 kg pour la France (Source : The World Bank).

Objectif zéro-déchet

A l’instar de la Bolivie, nous avons retrouvé le plaisir des marchés locaux où tout s’achète en vrac, même s’il faut insister et être rapide à dégainer son sac en tissu pour ne pas hériter d’une poche en plastique… Nous nous sommes fait plaisir et notamment pour notre trek de 7 jours, nous avons quasiment pu réaliser des courses zéro déchet.
Nous n’avons pas garder le détail exacte mais globalement sur 29 jours nous avons produit comme déchet non recyclable ou non biodégradable :

  • 1 poche plastique qui emballait un sandwich
  • 1 sachet de pâtes, 1 d’avoine et 1 de polenta, restes du Chili
  • 1 sachet de pâtes et 1 de blé
  • 3 sachets de sauce tomate
  • 1 paille (nous pensions faire un sans faute, et au dernier moment, bim !)
  • 2 emballages de papier toilette
  • Quelques médicaments
  • 1 sachet d’épices acheté en argentine
  • 1 brique de lait d’amande (nous avons parlé de chocolat chaud maison avec amandes écrasées durant tout le trek que nous fûmes obligés d’en acheter à notre retour !)
  • 4 sachets de chocolat (il nous fallait des forces pour la rando ;-)!) puis à nouveau 4 car ils étaient super bons !
  • Fil dentaire
  • Pansements
  • Préservatifs

Un petit point financier pour terminer

Avec la Bolivie et l’Equateur, le Pérou compte parmi les pays les moins chers d’Amérique du Sud. Le budget moyen par jour par personne vu à plusieurs reprises était de 25€. La différence avec d’autres pays, on trouve de tout à tous les prix ! Exemple à Cusco, plusieurs hôtels de luxe sont offerts aux visiteurs (500€ la nuit, nous avons un peu hésité à craquer…! 🙂 ), mais c’est aussi dans cette ville que nous avons pris une des chambres les moins chères de notre séjour, 8€80 pour une double avec petit déjeuner pour deux. Toujours à Cusco, nous avons fait une orgie vegane dans un restaurant que nous recommandons chaudement (psst, allez voir le Green Point !) ; le déjeuner, plus que copieux et goûteux, pour 3€70 !
N’ayant pas fait de volontariat, mais pas mal de visites culturelles, sites archéologiques et musées, nous avons pour une fois un budget assez semblable au voyageur en sac-à-dos classique. Pourtant nous n’avons eu aucun mal à être en dessous de 20€ par tête !

Ainsi nous avons dépensé 19€ par jour et par personne :

 

Nous espérons que vous avez aimé lire notre bilan du Pérou. Vous pouvez retrouver nos autres séries sur les liens suivant. Le portfolio c’est ici et la production des élèves de Quinson c’est pour bientôt !

Bonne lecture sur Yakoilabas !