Welcome on our third article of the series volunteering.

Small reminder for everybody, Yakoilabas aims at discovering the agroecology, the alternative constructions methods and the cultures of the world thanks to an ecological journey, find here the link towards our article ” journey and ecology, it works? “, and volunteering through 3 continents. Click here to reach the link towards our project.
So we are going you to tell it more on our third and last voluntary service in Argentina El Bolson in the Río Negro region.

The owners and the place

We were welcomed by Catalina and Juan, her, a music teacher, him, a paragliding instructor. They are as Argentinian as they like playing music and singing songs, it is not uncommon to hear guitar music, singing or music at any time of the day. It is moreover the music school of Mendoza that gathered this girl from Mar del Plata and this boy from San Carlos de Bariloche. Juan had already begun to build his house in the periphery of El Bolson, city renowned for its craft market, its organic farming and its numerous hiking trails.

The situation is rather particular because Juan recovers from a paragliding accident and cannot move a lot. Catalina spent the last month to take care of him and all the house; our coming will allow them to rest as much as to move forward on the house construction before Christmas and New Year holidays.

The project

Juan bought the place by means of his family and wanted to build with local products, at low cost and according to his wishes. What about the trees, the straws, the clay and the sand from the valley?
The construction began in 2011 and continues even today, the reason is probably related to the fact that the duplex saw its surface doubled since the initial project. Two new bedrooms and a second bathroom are in progress.

Activities

It is during our 14 days stay that we have been able to realise various activities with them as:

  • Prepare and apply a clay-straw mix which serves as isolation;
  • Prepare and apply a filler to cover the layer of insulating material and which allows to level or to form walls according to our desires;
  • Cook, always a pleasure, and maintain the house;
  • Bring a help of all kinds.

Here, contrary to Martina and Yohan’s place, materials are freed to us by small trucks and there is a cement mixer to mix products. We just need to step the mix, which activate the clay.

Except the days of works, we strongly recommend to the volunteers to pass at Juan and Catalina’s. They will find a cosy place and a very nice couple there to speak the Argentinian Castillan, but also to soak in the Argentinian rhythm, including naps, matecitos (a small mate – also works for tea or coffee with tecito or cafecito) and music or song.

We wish to Juan and Catalina to finish their house and that music continues to live around them! And a good recovering to Juan …

Juan et Catalina devant leur maison – Juan and Catalina in front of their house

The reading of this article pleased you? Comment and share on the social networks
You want it more? Have a look to our other series Draw-me and Tell-me you.

Bienvenue sur notre troisième article de la série volontariat.

Petit rappel pour tout le monde, Yakoilabas a pour but de découvrir l’agroécologie, les constructions alternatives et les cultures du monde grâce à un voyage écologique, retrouvez ici le lien vers notre article « voyage et écologie, ça marche? », et des volontariats à travers 3 continents. Cliquez ici pour accéder au lien vers notre projet.

Ainsi nous allons vous en dire plus sur notre troisième et dernier volontariat en Argentine, à El Bolson dans la région de Rio Negro.

Nous avons été accueillis par Catalina et Juan, elle, professeure de chant et de musique, lui, moniteur de parapente. Ils sont autant argentin que ce qu’ils aiment la musique et le chant, il n’est donc pas rare d’entendre guitare, chant ou musique à tout moment de la journée. C’est d’ailleurs l’école de musique de Mendoza qui a réuni cette fille de Mar del Plata et ce garçon de San Carlos de Bariloche. Juan avait déjà commencé à bâtir sa maison dans la périphérie d’El Bolson, ville réputée pour ses fêtes artisanales, son agriculture biologique et ses nombreux chemins de randonnée.

La situation est assez particulière car Juan se remet d’une chute en parapente et ne peut pas bouger. Catalina a passé le mois dernier à s’occuper de lui et de toute la maison ; notre venue leur permettra de se reposer autant que d’avancer sur la maison avant les fêtes de fin d’année.

Le projet

Juan a acheté un terrain à l’aide de sa famille et à voulu bâtir en fonction des produits à proximité, à bas coût et selon ses envies. Quoi de mieux que le bois, la paille, l’argile et le sable qui se trouvent dans la vallée ?

La construction a débuté en 2011 et continue encore aujourd’hui, il faut dire que le duplex a vu sa surface doublée depuis le projet initial. Il y aura bientôt de quoi accueillir des invités avec les deux nouvelles chambres et une seconde salle de bain en cours de réalisation.

Les activités

C’est durant notre séjour de 14 jours que nous avons pu réaliser différentes activités avec eux comme :

  • Préparer et appliquer un mélange argile-paille qui sert d’isolant ;
  • Préparer et appliquer un enduit pour couvrir la couche d’isolant et qui permet d’aplanir ou de former les murs selon ses envies ;
  • Cuisiner, toujours autant un plaisir, et entretenir la maison ;
  • Apporter une aide en tout genre.

Ici, contrairement à chez Martina et Yohan, les matériaux nous sont délivrés par camionnette et il y a une bétonnière sur place pour mélanger les produits. Un simple pétrissage au pied supplémentaire créé une friction qui permet d’activer l’argile.

Hormis les journées de travaux, on recommande vivement aux volontaires de passer chez Juan et Catalina. Ils y trouveront un lieu cosy et un couple fort sympathique pour parler le castillan argentin, mais aussi s’imprégner du rythme argentin, comprenant siestes, matecitos (un petit mate – marche aussi pour le thé ou le café avec tecito ou cafecito) et musique ou chant.

Nous souhaitons à Juan et Catalina de pouvoir terminer leur maison et que la musique continue de vivre autour d’eux ! Et un bon rétablissement à Juan…

Juan et Catalina devant leur maison – Juan and Catalina in front of their house

La lecture de cet article vous a plu ? Commentez et partagez sur les réseaux sociaux
Vous en voulez plus ? Jetez un oeil à nos autres séries dessine moi et raconte moi toi.